The Student

The mature student jumped in and wanted to get to Trinity college as quickly as possible.  It was the first day of his Masters course and he didn’t want to be late.  It was also 3 years since he’d been a student so he wasn’t so sure about the campus and finding the correct room.

Needless to say, I got him there with a few minutes to spare.  Now it was time to pay the fare.

The meter said €8.10.  I rounded it down and said €8 out loud.  He handed me a €50 note.

As I began to look for his change of €42, he said something like, ‘(garbled) get the 10 out of that‘.  I thought he was saying to make the fare €10, i.e. a €2 tip!!  But then it puzzled me why he was reaching into his pocket for change.

He pulled out a 20c piece and handed it to me.  LOL, he wanted me to take the 10c part of the fare out of the 20c coin and hand him back change of €42 and 10 cent.  No tip at all.

He got out of the taxi, said ‘God bless you‘ and away he went.  I could only laugh as I drove away…

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment